Health Justice CT

Health Justice CT Blog

Teresa Younger

200x200 Teresa YoungerTeresa Younger is the Executive Director of the Connecticut General Assembly’s Permanent Commission on the Status of Women (PCSW).  The PCSW has been the State’s leading force for women’s equality for nearly 40 years by fulfilling its mandate to: study all matters concerning women; inform leaders and the public about the nature and scope of discrimination; promote consideration of women for government positions; and work with State agencies to assess programs and practices as they affect women (per Connecticut General Statute 46a).

Prior to joining the PCSW, Younger was the Director of Affiliate Organizational Development at the American Civil Liberties Union National Office, where she assisted affiliates throughout the country with organization and management issues.  Prior to her tenure with ACLU National, Younger became the first woman and the first African American to serve as Executive Director of the ACLU of Connecticut.

Younger has a diverse array of policy and management experience, from corporate philanthropy to youth development. She is the president of the board of the Girl Scouts of Connecticut, which serves 46,000 Connecticut girls and is a member of the GSUSA National President’s Advisory Council.

Younger serves on several other boards including the Women’s Campaign School at Yale University, the Connecticut Women’s Hall of Fame, the Universal Health Care Foundation of Connecticut and the National Association of Commissions for Women.  She was identified by the Connecticut NAACP as one of the “100 Most Influential Blacks in the State of Connecticut” in both 2009 and 2011, and was named by Hartford Business Journal as one of “2008 Eight Remarkable Women in Business.” Younger has continually been recognized for her commitment to civil rights and civil liberties by numerous organizations.

She holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of North Dakota and lives in Shelton with her husband, Ronald Preston.

This entry was posted in Advisory Board. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.